Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees:

Elected community members:

Jason Stevenson - Presiding Member 

Tanya Ford - Treasurer              

 Larissa Bedford - Community Liaison      

Cambell Davison Fundraising 

Laurie Neville - Property      

Lisa Cadman - Staff rep.

Teresa Jones - Principal 

Alethea George - Secretary (employed)

This page has been designed to help parents and whanau understand the role of the board of trustees within the Waitoriki School community.

Minutes of the meeting are available in the school foyer, or by requesting a copy from the office           

Our policies can be viewed by following this link to SchoolDocs.

The board and principal form the leadership team, with the role of each documented and understood. The principal reports to the board as a whole with committees used sparingly and only when a need is identified in order to contribute to board work. The board is proactive rather than reactive in its operations and decision making and does not involve itself in the administrative details of the day-to-day running of the school. The board is encouraged to ask the right questions. Enhancing student achievement is its focus”.

All of New Zealand’s state and state-integrated schools have a board of trustees. The board of trustees is the Crown entity responsible for the governance and the control of the management of the school. The board is the employer of all staff in the school, is responsible for setting the school’s strategic direction in consultation with parents, staff and students, and ensuring that its school provides a safe environment and quality education for all its students. Boards are also responsible for overseeing the management of personnel, curriculum, property, finance and administration (source:

Board meetings are advertised in the school Newsletter and on our school calendar.